Board

DbI has a wide range of members, both corporate and individual, from all over the world. Membership fees are set to reflect the size of the organisation and many individual members contribute what they can afford.

Participation is vital to DbI’s success and its management structure has an active Board which guides its direction, and a Management Committee to provide the engine for action. Everyone involved does so in a voluntary capacity.

The Secretariat performs a key role in managing membership and can answer your enquiries.

DbI has a complete document outlining the organisational structure.

The board is responsible for advising and managing the organization and meets once a year. It comprises representatives from large and small corporate members and networks. It considers and discusses all matters related to the strategic direction and operation of DbI in pursuing its objectives.

DbI Management Committee (ManCom) and the following Large & Small Corporate Members and Network Leaders make up DbI Board:

Voting Board Members

Akhil Paul
Sense International India

akhil@senseintindia.org

Andrea Wanka

Andrea Wanka
DbI Charge Network
aw@andrea-wanka.del

Bernadette Kappen
The New York Institute for Special Education
bkappen@nyise.org

Carolyn Monaco
CDBA National
carolyn.monaco@sympatico.ca

Cathy Proll & Michelle Borton
Sensity
ManCom – DbI Secretariat
secretariat@deafblindinternational.org

Chris Montgomery
Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
montgomeryc@tsbvi.edu

Dominique Spriet
RFPSC-ANPSA
presidence@anpsa.fr

Eugenio Romero Rey
ONCE – Spanish National Organisation of the Blind
err@once.es

Frank Kat
Sint Lucas
ManCom – DbI President
frank.kat@versatel.nl

Gill Morbey
ManCom – Immediate Past DbI President
Gillian.Morbey@sense.org.uk

Gloria Rodriguez Gil
Perkins International – Latin America Office
gloria.rodriguez@perkins.org

Henriette Hermann Olesen

Henriette Hermann Olesen
Center For Deafblindness and Hearing Loss
ManCom – DbI Vice President
henriette.olesen@rn.dk 

Jackie Brennan
Overbrook School for the Blind
jackie@obs.org

Joe Gibson
DbI Outdoor Network
deafblindoutdoors@gmail.com

Kate McRae
Able Australia
kate.macrae@ableaustralia.org.au

Katherine Holland
Perkins International
katherine.holland@perkins.org

Maria Brons
Royal Dutch Kentalis
ManCom – DbI Treasury
m.brons@kentalis.nl

Maria Creutz

Maria Creutz
Nordic Centre for Welfare and Social Issues
Maria.creutz@nordicwelfare.org

Marianne Riggio
Network of the Americas
marianne.riggio@perkins.org

Marleen Janssen
University of Groningen
h.j.m.janssen@rug.nl

Matthew Wittorff
Senses Australia
matthew.wittorff@senses.org.au

Mirko Baur

Mirko Baur
Tanne, Swiss Foundation for Congenital Deafblindness
ManCom – DbI Vice President
mirko.baur@tanne.ch

Pawlos Kassu
Addis Ababa University Ethiopia
pawloskassu@gmail.com

Ricard Lopez

Ricard Lopez
DbI European Deafblind Network
FESOCE – Federación Española de Sordoceguera (Spanish Federation of Deafblind)
rlopez@sordoceguera.com

Roar Meland

Roar Meland
Eikholt National Resource Center for the Deafblind
roar.meland@eikholt.no

Rossano Bartoli
Lega del Filo d’Oro
bartoli.r@legadelfilodoro.it

Roxanna Spruyt-Rocks
DeafBlind Ontario Services
ceo@deafblindontario.com

Simon Allison
DbI Youth Network (DbIYN)
Simon.Allison@sense.org.uk

Sonja van de Molengraft
Centre National de Ressources Handicaps Rares – Surdicécité
Sonja.VANDEMOLENGRAFT@cresam.org

Steven Scheffer
Royal Dutch Visio
stevenscheffer@visio.org

Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen
Royal Dutch Kentalis
ManCom – DbI Network Coordinator
T.vanNunen@kentalis.nl

Ursula Heinemann
Österreiches Hilfswerk für Taubblinde
ursiheinemann@usa.net

NON-VOTING BOARD OBSERVERS

Lord Colin Low
International Board for Education of People with Visual Impairment (ICEVI)
colin.low@rnib.org.uk

Frances Gentle
ICEVI
Frances.Gentle@ridbc.org.au

Geir Jensen
World Federation of the DeafBlind
geir.jensen@fndb.no

Yulia Mayorova
Deafblind Support Resource Center, Moscow
ManCom – DbI Information Officer
j.mayorova@so-edinenie.org

A Management Committee (ManCom) is appointed by Board to undertake executive action.
The current ManCom comprises the President, two Vice Presidents, a Development Officer, an Information Officer, a Network Coordinator, a Secretary, a Treasurer and the Immediate Past President.

President
Frank Kat
frank.kat@versatel.nl

Vice Presidents
Henriette Hermann Olesen
henriette.olesen@rn.dk

Mirko Baur
mirko.baur@tanne.ch

Development Officer
to be appointed

Information Officer
Yulia Mayorova
j.mayorova@so-edinenie.org

Network Coordinator
Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen
T.vanNunen@kentalis.nl

Secretariat
Cathy Proll & Michelle Borton
secretariat@deafblindinternational.org

Treasurer
Maria Brons
m.brons@kentalis.nl

Immediate Past President
Gill Morbey
Gillian.Morbey@sense.org.uk

ComCom is responsible for DbI’s outreaching communication and its development.

Passionately active are:

  • Eugenio Romero Rey (i.a. Editor of the Spanish DbI Review)
  • Graciela Ferioli (i.a. DbI Social Media Pioneer)
  • Mirko Baur (i.a. Chair ComCom)
  • Roxanna Spruyt-Rocks (i.a. DbI Communication Ambassadors Coordinator)
  • Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen (i.a. DbI Network Coordinator)
  • Yulia Mayorova (i.a. DbI Information Officer)

Meet us and our mission and get in touch!