Board

DbI has a wide range of members, both corporate and individual, from all over the world. Membership fees are set to reflect the size of the organisation and many individual members contribute what they can afford.

Participation is vital to DbI’s success and its management structure has an active Board which guides its direction, and a Management Committee to provide the engine for action. Everyone involved does so in a voluntary capacity.

The Secretariat performs a key role in managing membership and can answer your enquiries.

DbI has a complete document outlining the organisational structure.

The board is responsible for advising and managing the organization and meets once a year. It comprises representatives from large and small corporate members and networks. It considers and discusses all matters related to the strategic direction and operation of DbI in pursuing its objectives.

DbI Management Committee (ManCom) and the following Large & Small Corporate Members and Network Leaders make up DbI Board:

Voting Board Members

Akhil Paul
Akhil Paul

Sense International India
akhil@senseintindia.org
Bernadette Kappen
Bernadette Kappen

The New York Institute for Special Education
bkappen@nyise.org
Chris Montgomery
Chris Montgomery

Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
montgomeryc@tsbvi.edu
Eugenio Romero Rey
Eugenio Romero Rey

ONCE – Spanish National Organisation of the Blind
err@once.es
Frank Kat
Frank Kat

SWVPO 3006
ManCom – DbI President
Frank.kat@outlook.com
Gill Morbey
Gill Morbey

ManCom – Immediate Past DbI President
Gillian.Morbey@​sense.org.uk
Gloria Rodriguez Gil
Gloria Rodriguez Gil

Perkins International – Latin America Office
gloria.rodriguez@​perkins.org
Henriette Hermann Olesen
Henriette Hermann Olesen

Center For Deafblindness and Hearing Loss
ManCom – DbI Vice President
henriette.olesen@rn.dk
Jackie Brennan
Jackie Brennan

Overbrook School for the Blind
jackie@obs.org
Maria Brons
Maria Brons

Royal Kentalis
ManCom – DbI Treasury
m.brons@kentalis.nl
Maria Creutz
Maria Creutz

Nordic Centre for Welfare and Social Issues
Maria.creutz@​nordicwelfare.org
Marleen Janssen
Marleen Janssen

University of Groningen
h.j.m.janssen@rug.nl
Mirko Baur
Mirko Baur

Tanne, Swiss Foundation for Congenital Deafblindness
ManCom – DbI Vice President
mirko.baur@tanne.ch
Pawlos Kassu
Pawlos Kassu

Addis Ababa University Ethiopia
pawloskassu@gmail.com
Ricard Lopez
Ricard Lopez

DbI European Deafblind Network
FESOCE – Federación Española de Sordoceguera (Spanish Federation of Deafblind)
rlopez@​sordoceguera.com
Roar Meland
Roar Meland

Eikholt National Resource Center for the Deafblind
roar.meland@eikholt.no
Sonja van de Molengraft
Sonja van de Molengraft

Centre National de Ressources Handicaps Rares – Surdicécité
Sonja.VANDEMOLENGRAFT@​cresam.org
Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen
Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen

Royal Dutch Kentalis
ManCom – DbI Network Coordinator
T.vanNunen@kentalis.nl
Ursula Heinemann
Ursula Heinemann

Österreiches Hilfswerk für Taubblinde
ursiheinemann@usa.net

Non-Voting Board Observers

Lord Colin Low
Lord Colin Low

International Board for Education of People with Visual Impairment (ICEVI)
colin.low@rnib.org.uk
Geir Jensen
Geir Jensen

World Federation of the DeafBlind
geir.jensen@fndb.no
Yulia Mayorova
Yulia Mayorova

Deafblind Support Resource Center, Moscow
ManCom – DbI Information Officer
j.mayorova@​so-edinenie.org

A Management Committee (ManCom) is appointed by Board to undertake executive action.
The current ManCom comprises the President, two Vice Presidents, a Development Officer, an Information Officer, a Network Coordinator, a Secretary, a Treasurer and the Immediate Past President.

Development Officer


to be appointed

Immediate Past President


Gill Morbey
Gillian.Morbey@​sense.org.uk

ComCom is responsible for DbI’s outreaching communication and its development.

Passionately active are:

  • Eugenio Romero Rey (i.a. Editor of the Spanish DbI Review)
  • Graciela Ferioli (i.a. DbI Social Media Pioneer)
  • Mirko Baur (i.a. Chair ComCom)
  • Roxanna Spruyt-Rocks (i.a. DbI Communication Ambassadors Coordinator)
  • Trees van Nunen-Schrauwen (i.a. DbI Network Coordinator)
  • Yulia Mayorova (i.a. DbI Information Officer)

Meet us and our mission and get in touch!

Video will be here